My Experiences -Last time (MELT) – 1213

Why I write?

I wrote this blog some few weeks back and was about to publish it during 1st week of January this year   but never got to compete it. So I read my blog again before posting it and asked myself few questions. Who are the readers of my blog? What do they want? Why am I writing this blog? Am I selling or sharing? I did not get answers to all my questions and hence continuing to search for answers. Should step back and stop until I find answers? I was not sure of that approach and hence, I decided to continue writing my blogs and make course correction as I discover answers to those questions. Ok let me start on a lighter note

Starter- De Blasio’s Way of Eating Pizza

The pizza arrived, steaming and delectable, a smoked-mozzarella-and-sausage pie presented to Mayor Bill de Blasio ( Mayor of New York). The mayor, on a pilgrimage on Friday to Goodfellas, a venerable Staten Island pizzeria, smiled, nodded at his slice and then proceeded to do the unthinkable: eat it with a knife and fork.

“Disaster,” declared a writer at New York magazine, citing the longstanding city protocol of devouring pizza, no matter how greasy, with the hands, and the hands only. The fourth pillar of democracy pronounced it as “first mistake of the Mayor”. I was amused by the news coverage and was wondering how many times Indians and Asians are ridiculed for eating with their hands.

Why Pizza should be eaten by hand and not sandwich or burger? Why most Indians eat with their hands and not with the fork or a spoon?

Vedic reasons for eating with the hands:

Eating food with the hands in today’s Western society can sometimes be perceived as being unhygienic until and unless you are eating Pizza( sic). Nobody questions where the hand was before eating Pizza but if you are in India or China these questions are raised. It can border to bad mannered and primitive if you are eating with your hands. Indians these days are more aligned with western culture and started using cutlery without understanding the reason behind eating with their hands.

According to Indian Vedic literatures eating food with your hands feeds not only the body but also the mind and the spirit”. The practice of eating with the hands originated within Ayurvedic teachings. The ancient native tradition of eating food with the hands is derived from the mudra practice, which is prevalent in many aspects within Hinduism. Mudras are used during mediation and are very prominent within the many classical forms of dance, such as Bharatnatyam.

The hands are considered the most precious organ of action. Our hands and feet are said to be the conduits of the five elements. The Ayurvedic texts teach that each finger is an extension of one of the five elements. Through the thumb comes space; through the forefinger, air; through the mid-finger, fire; through the ring finger, water and through the little finger it is earth.

Each finger aids in the transformation of food, before it passes on to internal digestion. Gathering the fingertips as they touch the food stimulates the five elements and invites Agni to bring forth the digestive juices. As well as improving digestion the person becomes more conscious of the tastes, textures and smells of the foods they are eating, which all adds to the pleasure of eating. Hope De Blasio is reading this.

Lies, Damn lies & Statistics – I don’t care

“The success rate of people climbing Mt Everest is 56%”

“30 years of mergers and acquisition success rate is 56%”

“Almost 50% of ERP implementation had cost over runs /project over runs or un realized benefits”

“Out of 3500 athletes in 2015 Winter Olympic only 1300 is likely to win medals which makes the success rate at 35%”

Why am I rattling these statistics? One of my colleague asked why CEO/CFO”s embark on mergers or acquisition even though there is considerable risk in it. He went on to add his bit of cynicism by saying by getting in to mergers and acquisition they keep themselves busy and securing their job for 5-6 years.

I tend to put a positive spin into this. Leaders who embark on a risky projects are the one with the courage (one of the requisite attributed of great leadership) and think big. They are not only aware of the risks but conscious about game changing outcomes if they are able to execute this well.

Just imagine the feeling of an athlete winning a medal after four years of hard work. Visualize the euphoria of an individual conquering Mt Everest after years of patience, hard work and penance.  These are special and unique moment in one’s life.  A good leader also strives for those unique moments. Not sure I convinced my friend but I was convinced. “Many eyes go through the meadow but only few see the flowers in it”.

Project manager way

One of my acquaintances narrated this to me while playing golf during my December vacation. I dedicate this to my PM colleagues.

A clergyman, a doctor and a project manager were playing golf together one day and were waiting for a particularly slow group ahead. The project manager exclaimed, “What’s with these people? We’ve been waiting over half an hour! It’s a complete waste of time.” The doctor agreed, “They’re hopeless, I’ve never seen such a slow pace in golf course.”

The clergyman spotted the approaching green keeper and asked him why the group ahead was playing so slow.  The green keeper replied, “Oh, yes, that’s a group of blind fire-fighters. They lost their sight saving our clubhouse from a fire last year, so we always let them play for free anytime.”

The three golfers fell silent for a moment. The clergyman said, “Oh dear, that’s so sad. I shall say some special prayers for them tonight.” The doctor added, rather meekly, “That’s a good thought. I’ll get in touch with an ophthalmic surgeon friend of mine to see if there’s anything that can be done for them.”

After pondering the situation for a few seconds, the project manager turned to the green keeper and asked, “Why can’t they play at night?”

Dessert

““ Learning is not compulsory… neither
survival is
” With those inspiring words of W Edward Deming, I bid good bye
with my usual signature Life is Beautiful
Explore posts in the same categories: blog, Humor, inspiration, leadership, Motivation, My Experiences, Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “My Experiences -Last time (MELT) – 1213”

  1. Manju Vaibhav Says:

    Nice blog


Leave a Reply

